Bite Me (Pride #9) by Shelly Laurenston-a review

Bite Me (Pride #9) by Shelly Laurenston-a review

Bite Me / / Barnes and Noble / KOBO / The Book Depository

BITE ME (Pride #9) by Shelly Laurenston

ABOUT THE BOOK: Release Date March 25, 2014

Livy Kowalski has no time for idiots. When you shapeshift into a honey badger, getting through life’s irritants is a finely honed skill. Until she gets stuck housing her nutso cousin and dealing with her dad’s untimely and unexplained demise.

That’s where Vic Barinov comes in—or his house does. Vic can’t step outside without coming back to find Livy devouring his honey stash and getting the TV remote sticky. It gets his animal instincts all riled up. But he’ll have to woo her at high speed: all hell is breaking loose, and Livy is leading the charge…


REVIEW: BITE ME is the ninth instalment in Shelly Laurenston’s contemporary, adult, shifter PRIDE series. This is badger shifter Olivia (Livy) Kowalski and hybrid shifter Vic Barinov’s (Siberian Tiger/Kamchatka grizzly bear) storyline. Readers were first introduced to Vic and Livy in Wolf with Benefits. This is a friends to lovers storyline.

The premise focuses on Livy and the truth about her father’s death. Badgers are known for their ferocity in a fight and their ability to protect the ones that they love but Livy’s father had been hunted and the family will do anything to bring the people responsible to justice-and justice- is another way of saying-dead.

Vic and Livy’s relationship is interesting. Vic is Livy’s go-to person when things get a little too tense with the family and tense is a way of life for the badgers. Their attraction to one another is apparent to everyone but to the couple who believe their mutual love for honey keeps their friendship real- in this they dance around one another all the while fighting off marauding bears and nasty badgers. There is none of the does he want me/does she love me conflict-Livy and Vic are two mature shifters who go for what they want and they want one another.

When the truth about Livy’s father’s death is revealed Livy knows that Vic will do everything he can to help locate the person(s) responsible but Vic will bring in assistance from another part of the world when all fingers begin to point to connections an ocean away.

BITE ME is a novel that features many of the previous storyline characters and premises including another look at shifter roller derby; Bo Novikov and Blayne Thorpe as they prepare for their upcoming dual nuptials with Gwen and Lock; as well as the Smith Pack including Dee Ann and Eggie play a pivotal role in the take down of those responsible but not before the badgers begin to make life miserable for anyone connected to Livy and her father’s death.

Shelly Laurenston writes with her usual flare of humor, entertainment and sexiness. A storyline rich in one liners and poetic sarcasm, BITE ME is a story that focuses on speciesism, stereotyping, discrimination and a hatred for a group of people all because of who and what they are.

If you love a shifter storyline with plenty of humor, family, friends and a take no prisoners kind of attitude, Shelly Laurenston’s Pride Series should be your next go to read in your ever growing TBR pile.

Copy supplied by Netgalley.

Reviewed by Sandy


Pack Series
1. Pack Challenge
2. Go Fetch
3. Here Kitty Kitty
4. When He was Bad (anthology)

Pride Series
.5 Howl For It (anthology)
1. The Mane Event
2. The Beast in Him
3. The Mane Attraction
4. The Mane Squeeze
5. Beast Behaving Badly
6. Big Bad Beast
7. Bear Meets Girl
8. Wolf With Benefits
9. Bite Me


12 thoughts on “Bite Me (Pride #9) by Shelly Laurenston-a review

  1. Great review, Sandy. I would love to read this series. Unfortunatley, though its near the top of my tbr, 9 books in doesn’t bode well for me to read this anytime soon.

  2. i do not read too many parnormal, but your review and this cover have me interested. though i dont see any chance of reading 8 books before this.

  3. Sweet review Sandy . LOVE THIS SERIES , And loved this read for those who haven’t read this series yet should , It is not only a really great read but will have you laughing at the crazy things they get into. A definite must read.

  4. Another great review. I have read another series by Laurenston, but not this one. I have to change that and go back to start from the beginning.

Leave a Reply

WordPress spam blocked by CleanTalk.