FEAR THE DARKNESS (Guardians of Eternity #9) by Alexandra Ivy

FEAR THE DARKNESS (Guardians of Eternity #9) by Alexandra Ivy

FEAR THE DARKNESS (Guardians of Eternity #9 ) by Alexandra Ivy

FEAR THE DARKNESS by Alexandra Ivy is the 9th novel (August 28, 2012 release) in her Guardians of Eternity series. Although the couple in question, for this particular storyline, is the Were Caine and his Prophet mate Cassandra (Cassie), the main premise of this particular novel is stopping the Dark Lord.

Alexandra involves many of her previous storyline characters including Styx, Roke, Viper, Gaius, Salvatore and Levet for the ultimate show of strength when the Dark Lord must face those hoping to close the rift between the veil and the Otherside. Several parallel storylines will coalesce in the final chapters, leaving a grieving mate with more than he bargained, the possibility of peace between Vampire and Were, and the mortality and whereabouts of one of the most feared and powerful beings in question.

Gaius has long sought to be reunited with his deceased mate-Dara, but a mistake made long ago has trapped him beyond the veil in servitude and slavery to the Dark Lord. A promise never forgotten, Gaius continues to play the clown to the Dark Lord’s demands, but the promise of being reunited with Dara has come at a cost. Sentenced to spend eternity serving evil, Gaius knows he must make amends to those he has betrayed but forgiveness will be a nightmare. Only this time, the Dark Lord will follow every move he makes and Gaius will become the pawn that will help the Dark Lord join the Alpha and Omega, once again making the Dark Lord the most powerful supernatural being. But an ominous warning from the Prophet will be lost to Gaius, when the very thing he wanted, may not be exactly what he gets.

Caine suspects Cassie is his mate, but the naïve and innocent Cassandra is only aware that her internal wolf wants Caine’s Were. The call to mate is strong between the couple, but Caine knows his first duty is to protect the Prophet and keep her from the Dark Lord. When he previously rescued the Prophet, he knew his duty, but realizing Cassie was his mate, made the idea of losing her to the Dark Lord that much more dangerous. But when the couple find themselves trapped behind the veil, it is Caine who is caught in the throws of a spell that has no apparent cure. But it will take the love of a very brave mate to tame the beast that wants none other than to kill everything in its path. And Cassie’s visions eventually turn black when the Dark Lord has what it wants.

Throughout the storyline, Styx (King of All Vampires) charges the Clan leaders with the orders to take up arms. Were and Vampire must unite, with imps and fey in order to close the portal between the worlds, only the rifts continue to grow as the Dark Lord increases in power. The Alpha and Omega are to be reunited so that the Gemini will rise, but the power of the Phoenix will get a little help from a an unbelievable source, when the Prophet’s vision reveals a reluctant warrior in the shape of a forgotten gargoyle.

FEAR THE DARKNESS is a fascinating and detailed storyline that re-unites many of the players and family members if only for a few minutes at a time. Personalities and egos will clash, as well as the eternal war between the species, but in order to save the world, sometimes prejudices and fears must be put aside. Another wonderful instalment in Alexandra Ivy’s Guardians of Eternity series.


1. When Darkness Comes
2. Embrace The Darkness
3. Darkness Everlasting
4. Darkness Revealed
5. Darkness Unleashed
6. Beyond The Darkness
7. Devoured By Darkness
8. Taken by Darkness (Yours for Eternity Anthology)
9. Darkness Eternal (Supernatural Anthology)
10.The Real Werewives of Vampire County (Anthology)
11.Bound by Darkness
12.Fear The Darkness

LINKS TO ORDER Fear The Darkness
The Book Depository
Amazon Paper Books
Amazon Kindle
B&N Nook and Paper Books

Copy supplied by author.

Reviewed by Sandy


13 thoughts on “FEAR THE DARKNESS (Guardians of Eternity #9) by Alexandra Ivy

    • Isn’t that the truth, Jules. I started Nalini late, and only had to wait for the last two books. So nice to be able to read straight through. In fact, I am so glad I did that for all of Sword of Truth & Fever, with the long waits in between and cliffhangers. Would have driven me nuts.

  1. Awesome review, Sandy! I’ve had her on my TBR for a long time now, but something always interrupts the order! 😀 This premise sounded hopeful for peace between vamps and weres and, well, that’s good enough for me!

    Reuniting players, players returning….my favorite parts!!! I am looking forward to Ms. Ivy’s world.

  2. Sandy, you really need to stop with these great reviews. You keep causing me to add more and more authors and series to my list. LOL!!! This series sounds more and more like something I will enjoy reading. Now if only time could stand still for a while so I can get caught up. 😉

    • Thank you Cathie. We love reviewing the books for everyone.

      And I too, always want to know the reading order…..sometimes when I read out of order…it screws the storyline so badly….lol

Leave a Reply

WordPress spam blocked by CleanTalk.