Magic Breaks by Ilona Andrews – a Review

Magic Breaks by Ilona Andrews – a Review


Magic Breaks
Kate Daniels series – Book #7
by Ilona Andrews
Release Date: July 29, 2014

Magic Breaks Aug 2014

Amazon / Barnes & Noble / Kobo / The Book Depository / BAM

As the mate of the Beast Lord, Curran, former mercenary Kate Daniels has more responsibilities than it seems possible to juggle. Not only is she still struggling to keep her investigative business afloat, she must now deal with the affairs of the pack, including preparing her people for attack from Roland, a cruel ancient being with god-like powers. Since Kate’s connection to Roland has come out into the open, no one is safe—especially those closest to Kate.

As Roland’s long shadow looms ever nearer, Kate is called to attend the Conclave, a gathering of the leaders from the various supernatural factions in Atlanta. When one of the Masters of the Dead is found murdered there, apparently at the hands of a shapeshifter, Kate is given only twenty-four hours to hunt down the killer. And this time, if she fails, she’ll find herself embroiled in a war which could destroy everything she holds dear…




Magic Breaks by Ilona Andrews is the 7th book in her wonderful Kate Daniels series. This is one of my favorite series, and each book keeps getting better and better. There are so many fabulous characters in this series, but make no mistake, it is Kate and Curran, who make this so special.

In something very unusual, Andrews begins with a short summary, explaining the series; the past and the present. It was very nicely done. But please be forewarned, if you have not read this series, please do not start with this book, as it is truly not a standalone. You need to start with the first book, and learn all you can about Kate and Curran (Beast Lord), or you will miss an awesome series.

The story begins awhile after the last book, with Curran and some of his top pack members going out of town on a fun hunt. Kate, as the pack consort, will once again be the one in charge. Of course, with Curran gone, all hell is about break loose, but then again, we are used to Kate being thrown into the fire.

She must attend a conference (Conclave) of leaders from the supernaturals in Atlanta. With her Pack Council, they face off against the People (vampires), when one of the Peoples was brutally murdered by a shapeshifter. Kate comes face to face with an old enemy, and she knows that this was a setup. Being given an ultimatum that could cause the death of her pack and others in Atlanta, she sets out to find the killer and prevent a war.

One of the main elements in this series, is that we know the truth about Kate, and her relationship with Roland, the ultra powerful being who is almost like god. No one can beat Roland, and up until this book, we have not truly met him. Kate has her own magic, which she hides, but over time she has learned a lot more about controlling those powers.

What follows is an exciting action packed story, where Kate and some of her team enter dangerous territory to discover information that will lead them to the real killer before a war comes that will destroy them all. I really enjoyed some of the newer characters like Desandra and Ascanio, to go with our regulars like Andrea, Jim, Derek. At one point Kate finds herself in a situation she cannot get out of, and begins to fear Curran won’t find her in time, as death creeps closer to her. There are a few side stories of betrayal, justice and revenge, with the need to deal with it, and this book does not disappoint. There is a lot of violence, and at some point Kate will have some semblance of vengeance.

But most of all, this was a wild and thrilling race to the finish. We finally meet Roland, as Kate must prove herself, and the world will know who she truly is. Andrews did a masterful job throughout this series of leading up to Kate meeting Roland. Will Kate survive her meeting with Roland? Can Kate and Curran stop a war, and save Atlanta from Roland’s claiming?

Kudos to Ilona Andrews for a fabulous and thrilling story, which constantly blew our minds. It was non-stop action from start to finish, and impossible to put down.   The ending was somewhat of a shocker, and I for one cannot wait for the next book. Once again, Bravo to Ilona Andrews for Magic Breaks, the best one yet in this fantastic series.

Reviewed by Barb

Kate Daniels Reading order:

MAGIC MOURNS (Raphael and Andrea novella)
MAGIC DREAMS (Jim and Dali novella)
GUNMETAL MAGIC (and Magic Gifts) – Andrea’s book – Kate Daniels World #1
Magic Steals (Second Jim and Dali novella) – November 25, 2014
Kate 8 – untitled, under contract
Magic 9 – untitled, under contract




9 thoughts on “Magic Breaks by Ilona Andrews – a Review

Leave a Reply

WordPress spam blocked by CleanTalk.