Taste of Darkness (Darkness #2) by Katie Reus-a review

TASTE OF DARKNESS (Darkness #2) by Katie Reus-a review

Taste of Darkness

Amazon.com / Amazon.ca / Amazon.uk/ Barnes and Noble / KOBO /

About the book: Release Date July 26 , 2014

He spent more than a thousand years imprisoned in Hell…

Drake is an ancient dragon shifter, one of the most powerful beings in existence, but over a millennium trapped in utter darkness has left him ill-equipped for modern society. If it wasn’t for Victoria, the sweet female brave enough to befriend him, he’d be lost. She’s smart and gorgeous and everything he never dared dream of during his years of agonizing loneliness. He may not have anything to offer her, but one thing he knows for sure: he’d die to keep her safe.

Only to fall into the heaven of her touch.

Victoria is a wolf shifter, healer of the Stavros pack. She’s seen a lot, but she’s never met anybody quite like Drake, the fiery, fascinating shifter who can blaze through the skies unseen by mere mortals. He’s lost, dangerous, and the last male she should fall in love with, but the more time she spends helping him navigate modern life, the deeper—and hotter—their connection becomes. She’s thrilled when they finally locate his family, but reuniting with his people plunges them both into unimaginable danger. It’s a race against the clock trying to figure out who wants them dead and who they can trust, especially when the threat is closer than they ever imagined.


Review: TASTE OF DARKNESS is the second instalment in Katie Reus’s adult, contemporary DARKNESS paranormal romance series. This is dragon shifter Drake and wolf shifter/healer Victoria’s storyline. We were first introduced to Victoria and Drake in Darkness Awakened where Drake was revealed asVega’s protector in Hell. Although TASTE OF DARKNESS is the second book in the series, it can be read as a stand alone.

Drake is a dragon shifter who has spent over one thousand years in Hell. Captured and tortured as a young boy Drake has no memory of the years before his imprisonment. He has no recollection of family, friends or how he ended up trapped with no way of escape. Following his rescue, along side Vega, Drake finds himself attracted to one of his rescuers –a wolf shifter from the Stavros pack named Victoria and the woman who would one day be his mate.

Drake is a dragon who has spent over a millennia in Hell and is unaware of what it is like to be a dragon with a mate. While he worries about the rituals of courtship and claiming, someone else is desperately trying to destroy Drake’s happiness –one dragon/one wolf at a time. As Drake and his new found family begin to research the history of the dragon, Victoria will find herself the object of another’s obsession.

The relationship between Drake and Victoria is sensual, seductive and slow to build as Drake is unsure of himself in the relationship department. He is a man who believes he is not worthy of a mate and must prove that he is a capable male of providing and protecting the woman that he loves.

We are introduced to a number of secondary characters including Drake’s siblings, extended family and a host of enemy clans who are all vying for control. With the introduction of several new dragons, there appears to be several potential matings on the horizon.

Katie Reus adds another imaginative and intense storyline to her repertoire of romantic paranormal novels. TASTE OF DARKNESS takes the reader on a passionate journey, a captivating love story, and an entertaining view of life as a paranormal shifter.

Reading Order
1. Darkness Awakened
2. Taste of Darkness

Copy supplied by the author

Reviewed by Sandy

Reviewed by Sandy


9 thoughts on “Taste of Darkness (Darkness #2) by Katie Reus-a review

Leave a Reply

WordPress spam blocked by CleanTalk.