The Cougar Diaries Parts 1 & 2 by Aoife Brennan-a review

The Cougar Diaries Part 1 & 2 by Aoife Brennan-a review

The Cougar Diaries Pt 1THE COUGAR DIARIES Part I by Aoife Brennan

ABOUT THE BOOK: Release Date February 2013 / / Barnes and Noble / KOBO /

The Cougar Diaries is a year in the life of Aoife Brennan, A newly single woman, Dubliner and mother to two teenage boys – she has to fight for her way of life, overcome the antiquated legal divorce system, secure a fair future from her estranged ex and LIVE! This is about a woman living and loving again, making mistakes, embracing life and giving it lots of welly!

REVIEW: THE COUGAR DIARIES is the first instalment in Aoife Brennan’s fictionalized account of her life following the demise of her marriage. The storyline is a culmination of real life and fantasy adventure of a forty something, newly single mother of two teenage boys and her foray into the world of dating, sex and divorce. The storyline is a sexual mixture erotica, BDSM and MMF situations.

Aoife Brennan pulls the reader into one woman’s struggles as she tries to enter the world of online dating and the reality of the less than honest profiles. She will encounter a long list of men who are more than willing to fulfill every woman and man’s fantasy, and she will be placed in some very precarious situations. And all of this happens as ailing father shows signs of deterioration, her employer seeks to downsize and her ex-husband demands a change in separation agreements. But Aoife has a plan and hopefully everything will work out in the end.

The Cougar Diaries is a story about one woman trying to reclaim what was lost-her identity as a person and not just as someone’s mother and wife. Aoife Brennan takes the reader on a journey that will make you laugh and cry; shutter and sigh; shake your head and wonder why? But in the end, life comes full circle and there will always be a way to find the path you were meant to follow.

Copy supplied by the author.


The Cougar Diaries Pt 2THE COUGAR DIARIES Part II by Aoife Brennan

ABOUT THE BOOK: Release Date September 17, 2013 / / Barnes and Noble / KOBO /

Aoife Brennan, 40-something Dubliner, carries on her madcap year battling the recession in Ireland, trying to find new love in Athens and overcoming austerity in Ireland


REVIEW: The Cougar Diaries Part II is the second instalment in Aoife Brennan’s contemporary, fictionalized account of her life and love following her separation and subsequent divorce from her husband. The storyline picks up quickly on the tail of Part I and focuses on Aoife’s struggle to make ends meet when her job and the business she works for become redundant; Ireland and most of Europe enter a recession; and the lawyer to whom she has contracted ensures he will get his revenge in the end. The storyline is set in Ireland and Europe 2013 and comes with all of the social media jargon and headline breaking news of the day.

Aoife Brennan is a strong female who knows what she wants and she wants to wipe the slate clean and start all over. But her lawyer is a shark and when Aoife and her brother George presented the ‘shark’ with his options, Aoife believed she was safe and secure. As the storyline builds, so too does Aoife’s relationship with Chris-the man with whom she will fall in love but Aoife’s personal and professional life begin to spiral out of control just as Ireland’s financial stability begins its’ downward spiral as well.

The Cougar Diaries Part II documents the journey and roller coaster ride of one woman’s fight to save her family, her home, her job and her heart. As the depression deepens in Ireland Aoife will be caught in the melee and subsequent fall out of down sizing; an scheming lawyer; an ex husband who disappears and the love for a man who wants something that Aoife is unable or willing to give. The reader is pulled into the emotional fall out of suicide, depression and loss of support but will also hang tight for the gradual climb out of the dark and into the light.

The secondary characters are numerous, colorful and fill a void in our heroine’s life that was left empty by betrayal and heartbreak at the hands of two men she once trusted; and they will play a significant role in her struggle to save her house, her job and her heart. She is a woman strong in the knowledge that she will survive at the end of the day but knows that she will need the necessary assistance in order to complete her journey.

Aoife Brennan uses the backdrop of a business and country’s struggle to stay solvent all the while watching one woman fight to keep her struggles from destroying everything and everyone she knows. This is also a story of one woman’s adventure and re-entry into the world of online dating and sexual experimentation and, who of us at forty plus years old, would be secure enough to try something new, exciting and different.

Aoife Brennan has written an amazing and heartfelt storyline that will be familiar to many but has added a sexual adventure to keep the romance aspect at the forefront of reader curiousity. Our heroine will face adversity and heartbreak; betrayal and revenge; loss and letting go. She will also fall in love and face the reality that there may not be a happily ever after at the end of the day. We can only hope that Aoife (the author) will allow Aoife (the heroine) to open her heart to the possibility that the man with whom she has fallen in love is worth another chance at love and family.

Copy supplied by the author.

reviewed by Sandy


11 thoughts on “The Cougar Diaries Parts 1 & 2 by Aoife Brennan-a review

  1. Busy day today ladies. Thanks for the reviews. Love the sound of the premise and you are right-it may hit very close to home for many people going through a divorce.

    I will have to check them out. Thanks.

  2. Pingback: The Cougar Diaries Part III by Aoife Brennan-Review, Interview and Giveaway | The Reading Cafe

Leave a Reply

WordPress spam blocked by CleanTalk.