Ultimate Sins (The Callahans #4) by Lora Leigh -a review

ULTIMATE SINS ( The Callahans #4) by Lora Leigh-a review

Ultimate Sins

Amazon.com / Amazon.ca / Amazon.uk/ Barnes and Noble / KOBO / The Book Depository

Release Date: August 26, 2014

The final book in the sexy, suspenseful Callahan series from #1 New York Times bestselling author, Lora Leigh.

Ex-Marine Crowe Callahan has only had one obsession in life: Amelia Sorenson. She is the only one who has ever gotten under his skin. However, she is also the daughter of his family’s sworn enemy; a man who has sought to destroy the Callahan’s for generations in order to further his own nefarious agenda. When Amelia put herself on Crowe’s side and in Crowe’s bed, she became her father’s enemy as well. When Wayne Sorenson escapes capture both Amelia and Crowe know it is only a matter of time before he resurfaces to exact his revenge. Now Crowe will claim Amelia in order to bait a killer and end things once and for all. But can he protect the woman he can’t seem to live without from one of the deadliest enemies he has ever know? And will he survive it if he can’t?


REVIEW: ULTIMATE SINS is the fourth and final instalment in Lora Leigh’s contemporary, adult The Callahans erotic romance series focusing on the Callahan Family. This is ex marine Crowe Callahan and Amelia Sorenson’s storyline that sees retribution and revenge against a serial killer that has targeted everyone the Callahans have ever loved. ULTIMATE SINS sees the culmination of one man’s vendetta against a town and a family he believes owes him everything. Because ULTIMATE SINS is the final instalment of the Callahan ARC I would suggest reading in order for easier understanding and consistency.

Told from several close personal third person points of view including memories and present day premise, the storyline covers approximately seven years-seven long years that saw Crowe Callahan walk away from the only woman he ever loved leaving her unprotected from a violent and psychotic man who is determined to destroy an entire town. While Crowe was sent away on assignment with the special ops forces, Amelia was left behind to endure humiliation, abuse and torture but what Crowe never realized is that Amelia did everything to protect the people that she loved. The timeline skips ahead a number of times and what happens during those seven years is important and imparted to the reader when and where necessary.

Crowe is a hardened ex-marine whose personality was less than welcoming. As a controlling, over protective male Crowe is the epitome of alpha marine and a man who would do anything-including murder- to protect the woman that he loves.

Amelia is a woman whose life has been shattered by one man-a man so close that betrayal is considered tame for the sins he has committed against the people of the small town she loves. But Amelia is also a woman, who knows her life is in danger but continues to put herself at risk at every opportunity. She refuses to be held prisoner in her own home even though it is probably the only way to protect her from the evil that has promised retribution and revenge.

The relationship is a second chance at love for two people who have never stopped loving one another. As the Callahan family find themself and everyone they love the victims of a deranged serial killer, Crowe and his cousins begin to unravel the truth behind a psychotic mind. With the help of an anonymous source, the identity of the murderer known as the Slasher will become readily apparent and all too familiar.

As per Lora Leigh’s style of writing, the sex scenes are numerous, graphic and hot. Nothing is off limits between consenting adults and Lora Leigh punches up the sex with graphic language and visual imagery. There are some sex scenes of questionable consent.

The secondary characters include the Callahan cousins, law enforcement, friends, spiteful townsfolk and a psychopath set on revenge and death. As with the end of any series arc there is the introduction and hint at what is to come and Rory may be getting his storyline next.

ULTIMATE SINS is a story of suspense, romance, sex and love. Lora Leigh’s imagination knows no boundaries and she takes the reader along for a roller coaster ride towards the final reveal.

Reading Order
1. Midnight Sins
2. Deadly Sins
3. Secret Sins
4. Ultimate Sins

Copy supplied by the publisher through Netgalley

Reviewed by Sandy


14 thoughts on “Ultimate Sins (The Callahans #4) by Lora Leigh -a review

  1. Great review, this sounds like a fabulous Lora Leigh series. I’ve always loved her Breed series and in fact have many of my own fantasies with Dane! mmmm… I’ll check the prices and see if I can add this series to my TBR!

Leave a Reply

WordPress spam blocked by CleanTalk.